1 Comment

Speaker Nominee: Maya Owens

Maya Owens

Visiting Professor, Miami University-Hamilton Campus

Maya Owens

Who is she: Graduating from Spelman College was not only a blessing but a dream come true. I was fortunate to meet some of the best and brightest minds. Upon graduation, I would like to say that life was rosy and I accomplished all of my dreams. But that was not quite my reality. Dealing with some serious health problems changed my life forever. But here I am still standing. I currently am a Visiting Professor of Communication at Miami Hamilton University. I teach an introductory course in Public Speaking and Mass Communication. I love being in the classroom. It is a gift that offers so much more than I could have ever imagined. I have experience with public speaking that spans over 10 years. Most recently, I was a speaker at my church for Mental Health Awareness Week.

I am active with the NAASC Cincinnati Chapter. I serve as the Social Chair. I am involved with local recruitment of potential Spelman students. I am also a proud and active member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Recently, I received the Young Alumna of the Year Award 2011 from the NAASC for the dedication to Spelman College and my community. Spelman in turn nominated me for the Outstanding Young Alumni Award with the UNCF Alumni Council. I will be receiving that award on February 3.

There aren’t enough words to express how much I love Spelman College. It would be an honor to share a message of encouragement, inspiration, and love to my Spelman sisters.


One comment on “Speaker Nominee: Maya Owens

Leave a Reply

